About the University of Calgary

The University of Calgary acknowledges the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 7 region in Southern Alberta, which includes the Blackfoot Confederacy (comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, and Kainai First Nations), as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation, and the Stoney Nakoda (including the Chiniki, Bearspaw and Wesley First Nations). The City of Calgary is also home to Metis Nation of Alberta, Region 3. The University of Calgary acknowledges the impact of colonization on Indigenous peoples in Canada and is committed to our collective journey towards reconciliation to create a welcome and inclusive campus that encourages Indigenous ways of knowing, doing, connecting and being.

The University of Calgary is a co-educational, non-denominational government supported institution possessing the right of conferring degrees, other than degrees in Divinity, within the Province of Alberta. It is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and of Universities Canada.

The University of Calgary is expected to achieve focused outcomes that support and encourage engagement, economic, social, and cultural prosperity, and are valuable to all Albertans. To learn about our institutional strategies and plans, see: ucalgary.ca/about/our-strategy/strategies-and-plans.

For more information about the University of Calgary see: ucalgary.ca/about.

A comprehensive list of university policies and procedures can be found here: ucalgary.ca/legal-services/university-policies-procedures.

Institutional Heraldry
Governance and Leadership
Honorary Degrees (HD and OTUC) and Emeriti