Skip to Main Content
Navigated to 3.2.11 Letter of Permission (Permission to Take Courses at Another Institution).

3.2.11 Faculty of Arts
Letter of Permission (Permission to Take Courses at Another Institution)

See B.12 Residency Requirements, Letters of Permission and Leaves of Absence.

Students must request permission to register in courses at another post-secondary institution while enrolled in a degree program at the University of Calgary. Taking courses at another post-secondary institution without a Letter of Permission may result in a denial of transfer credit or in some circumstances a required to withdraw ruling.

Students must complete 18 units before they are eligible to apply for a Letter of Permission. Students on academic probation will not be granted a Letter of Permission except under special circumstances. Exceptions require the approval of the Associate Dean.

Students request Letters of Permission through their online Student Centre. Students should check with a program advisor in the Arts Students' Centre to ensure that courses taken elsewhere will receive transfer credit and that such transfer credit will advance their program. See

Students must apply for the Letter of Permission before registering at another institution. Once the course is completed, students must arrange for an official transcript to be sent to the Admissions Office in order to have transfer credit recorded.

Grades for transfer courses are not included in the GPA calculation used in the annual academic review or the calculation of the Dean’s List.

Back to 3.2 Course Regulations

Contact Us

Reach out to us if you have any questions about the new Calendar website or to provide feedback on any of the site navigation. For any questions regarding your program or for specific interpretations of regulations, please connect with an advisor for support.

Site Disclaimer

Please read the Important Notice and Disclaimer to understand your rights and responsibilities with regards to using the Academic Calendar.

The University of Calgary, located in the heart of Southern Alberta, both acknowledges and pays tribute to the traditional territories of the peoples of Treaty 7, which include the Blackfoot Confederacy (comprised of the Siksika, the Piikani, and the Kainai First Nations), the Tsuut’ina First Nation, and the Stoney Nakoda (including Chiniki, Bearspaw, and Goodstoney First Nations). The City of Calgary is also home to the Métis Nation of Alberta (districts 5 and 6).

The University of Calgary is situated on land Northwest of where the Bow River meets the Elbow River, a site traditionally known as Moh’kins’tsis to the Blackfoot, Wîchîspa to the Stoney Nakoda, and Guts’ists’i to the Tsuut’ina. On this land and in this place we strive to learn together, walk together, and grow together “in a good way.”

Powered by Coursedog