Skip to Main Content
Navigated to 3.4.1 Grades.

3.4.1 Faculty of Arts - Grades

The official grading system of the University of Calgary is given in the Academic Regulations section of this Calendar.

The Faculty of Arts will allow students to pursue the Flexible Grade Option except for the following courses:

  • Anthropology 571

  • Anthropology 573

  • Archaeology 590

  • Art 560, 561, 563

  • Canadian Studies 597, 598.

  • Communication and Media Studies 595, 597

  • Dance 531

  • Development Studies 593

  • East Asian Language Studies 501

  • Economics 387, 389, 495, 497, 557, 559***

  • English 504

  • Film 595 and 597

  • Gender and Sexuality Studies 590*

  • Geography 595, 598

  • Geology 510* for students admitted to the Bachelor of Science (honours) in Earth Science

  • German 591*

  • Greek and Roman Studies 504

  • History 597*, 598*.

  • Law and Society 590

  • Linguistics 598

  • Music 560**, 562; for Music 321, 323, 462 a grade of "B-" or higher must be achieved to request a CG

  • Philosophy 590, 597

  • Political Science 590, 591

  • Psychology 598

  • Religious Studies 590

  • Russian 591*

  • Sociology 590

  • Spanish 598

*The exclusion only applies to students who are admitted to Honours.
**The CG exclusion applies to students in the BA Music (Honours) program, the BMus (Integrated Studies) program and the BMus (Composition) program.
***The CG exclusion applies to Economic majors including those who are admitted to Honours.

For more information refer to F.1.3 Flexible Grade Option (CG Grade).

Back to 3.4 Academic Review, Grades and Student Standings

Contact Us

Reach out to us if you have any questions about the new Calendar website or to provide feedback on any of the site navigation. For any questions regarding your program or for specific interpretations of regulations, please connect with an advisor for support.

Site Disclaimer

Please read the Important Notice and Disclaimer to understand your rights and responsibilities with regards to using the Academic Calendar.

The University of Calgary, located in the heart of Southern Alberta, both acknowledges and pays tribute to the traditional territories of the peoples of Treaty 7, which include the Blackfoot Confederacy (comprised of the Siksika, the Piikani, and the Kainai First Nations), the Tsuut’ina First Nation, and the Stoney Nakoda (including Chiniki, Bearspaw, and Goodstoney First Nations). The City of Calgary is also home to the Métis Nation of Alberta (districts 5 and 6).

The University of Calgary is situated on land Northwest of where the Bow River meets the Elbow River, a site traditionally known as Moh’kins’tsis to the Blackfoot, Wîchîspa to the Stoney Nakoda, and Guts’ists’i to the Tsuut’ina. On this land and in this place we strive to learn together, walk together, and grow together “in a good way.”

Powered by Coursedog